

Summary report on the WAE Continental Judge seminar held in Wiesbaden, 25 to 27 October, 2013.

The seminar was kindly hosted by Deutscher Schützenbund – DSB in its headquarter in Wiesbaden. All participants and lecturers were lodged in the Achat City Hotel in the pedestrian centre of Wiesbaden.

As World Archery Europe and DSB representative, Mr. Klaus Lindau, welcomed the participants and gave latest information about the arrangements for food, beverages and transport.

The eighteen candidates came from eleven WAE member associations, AUT, CRO, CZE, FIN, GER, ISR, ITA, NED, SLO, TUR and UKR. Both genders were equally represented with 8 ladies and 8 men. The Committee noticed with satisfaction the exceptionally high percentage of young candidates.

The seminar presentations covered extensively all aspects of the rules and procedures of outdoor and indoor target archery and covered the basics of field & 3D archery, para-archery and director of shooting tasks and duties. Three case study sessions and practical workshops completed the programme of two intensive and long working days.

The judge committee acknowledged the high level of knowledge and competence of the participants, who interacted very actively during the seminar presentations and at the analysis of the case studies.

A majority of the participants already had the opportunity to officiate as national judge or as DoS at WAE Junior Cups, Grand Prix or at WA World Cups. This reflected well their intervention and input during the workshops.

Based on the markings of the written exam and the evaluation of the candidates about their involvement in the case studies and workshops, the Judge Committee proposes to WAE Executive Board to nominate following candidates to the status as WAE Continental Judge:

Helmut Pöll (AUT), Christoph Schillinger (AUT), Nina Herceg (CRO), Katerina Koncalova (CZE), Kristina Anna Reitmeier (CZE), Pyry Ekholm (FIN), Niko Ylipelkonen (FIN), Carsten Kühn (GER), Yuri Yogev (ISR), Dajana Piccolo (ITA), Giorgio Piga (ITA), Paul van Veen (NED), Marusa Rusjan (SLO), Maya Shalaby (SLO), Nataliya Rodionova (UKR).

Pol Ney – 28 October, 2013 Chairman of the WAE Judge Committee