19th World Archery Europe Congress


The 19th World Archery Europe Congress was held on 4 May 2024 in Essen, GER, perfectly hosted by the German Shooting and Archery Federation at the eve of the 2024 CQT and European Championships. The Congress took place in the marvellous setting of the Zollverein Coal Mine, Unesco World Heritage Site, in a panoramic hall at the height of 38 metres.
the Zollverein Coal Mine will be also the iconic venue of the European Championships Finals.

Voting delegates representing 32 European Member Associations were in attendance.

• Mr Mr. Arnoud Strijbis (NED) was elected as World Archery Europe Vice President for a four years term
• Hilda Gibson (GBR), Darko Uidl (CRO), Viktoriya Koval (UKR) were elected for a four years term and Maya Shalaby (SLO) was elected as Board Member for a two years term.

The following people were elected to World Archery Europe Committees:

• Youth Development Committee
Irena Rosa (SLO)
Karin Larsson Brolund (SWE)
Sermet Cinar (TUR)

• Judges Committee
Katy Lipscomb (GBR)
Christophe Pezet (FRA)

• 3D and Field Committee
Giorgio Botto (ITA)
Cenneth Ahlund (SWE)

• Development and Technical Committee
Steve Tully (GBR)
Juan Carlos Holgado (ESP)

• Para Archery Committee
Chiara Barbi (ITA)
Brina Bozic (SLO)

All the submitted motions and amendments passed.

The Congress awarded WA President and WAE Honorary President Prof. Dr. Ugur Erdener, whose commitment and contributions let Archery be one of the uppermost Olympic sports.

The President of the German Shooting and Archery Federation, Mr Hans-Heinrich von Schönfels, with WAE deep appreciation for the outstanding support to the Congress and Championships’ organization.

WA Secretary General Mr Tom Dielen for his commitment to the growth of Archery in Europe

Mr Daniel Pavlov for the outstanding support and considerable contribution to the Executive Board along the last ten years.

Mr Christian Laforest for his dedication, commitment and deep appreciation for his valuable contribution among WAE Executive Board.

Mr Klaus Lindau, WAE Honorary Vice President, with WAE appreciation for his dedication to Archery in Europe.

Mrs Evelyn Papadoupolou for the exceptional support to WAE DTAC and valuable contribution to Archery development in Europe.

Scroll to Top